Borderlands 2 – The game that got me addicted for more than a year!

Just 5 more minutes, mom….

I never realised when those 5 minutes turned into 5 hours. When I checked my watch again it was 5am which is pretty late considering the fact that I had to wake up early the next day. This was 4 days ago. 

I bought Borderlands 2 around Feb ’16 and normally I’m completely done with a game over a month at the maximum. But about 4 days ago, I played Bord 2 for about 16 hours even though its been more than a year since I started playing the game. So what makes the game so addictive ? 

If I had to describe Borderlands 2 in two words it would be shoot and loot. For those of you who don’t know, Borderlands 2 is a first person shooter which was released in 2012. In the game, you choose one of 4 vault hunters who are searching for a vault that contains a secret weapon on the alien planet of Pandora.borderlands_2_2

Loot –

The thing that drives you to play the game is not the story but the addictive gameplay and loot system. Take a guess as to how many guns are there in the game ? 100 ? Wrong. 1000 ? Wrong again. The game has more than 17.75 million guns! Don’t believe me ? Google it. So how’s that possible ? Bord 2 has a random loot generating system which randomly gives you a weapon when you kill an enemy or open a loot chest. You’ll find lots and lots of loot chests in the game which’ll have ammo, guns, grenade mods, shields etc. A single gun in the game has hundreds of variations.

kJGkDiK

Weapons in the game are colour coded according to their rarity. Whites are the least rare and legendaries (yellow/orange) are extremely rare to find. I got my first legendary when I completed the game after killing the final boss. After you finish the game you unlock True Vault Hunter Mode and Ultimate Vault Hunter Mode after that. In TVHM all the enemies scale to your level meaning the game gets harder and you can play the game once again. Now you would ask, if the story isn’t that great, why would I play the game again ? As I said the driving factor is loot. The loot is the reason you keep playing the game again and again. The loot gets better as you level up and you level up by doing missions and killing enemies. The maximum level you can reach is level 72. I currently am on level 47.

49520_screenshots_2013-09-12_00001.jpg

Characters –

The other thing that makes you play the game is the humour and the characters. Each of the 4 main characters that you have to choose from has a special ability. The Commando can deploy a turret in the battlefield, the Gunzerker can weild 2 guns at once, the Siren can phaselock her enemies etc. Then there are 3 skill trees for each character. You get a skill point whenever you level up and choosing the right skills can make the character more powerful and fun to play.

90ecaab8-e997-401c-86e2-b77c5103c165borderlands_2_15

Speaking of characters, I’ve got to talk about Claptrap. Claptrap is the first character you meet in the game. He’s a small robot who has such good lines, it makes you laugh out loud every time. maxresdefault

Environment and Enemies –

The game map is really huge and has some really good environments. There are different places with different kinds of enemies. You’ll find swamps, deserts, wastelands, snow covered places , futuristic cities etc. Among the enemies you have varous kinds of robots, aliens, people etc. To travel this huge map you have two types of vehicles. The vehicle controls aren’t that good but they do their job okay. 

borderlands_2_1

The game is even more fun online where you can team up with other players. The loot gets even more better online. Also it becomes more fun when you coordinate and plan with other players to defeat the enemies

Here are some screenshots of the game :borderlands_2_18.jpg

borderlands_2_19.jpg

Borderlands-2-Headhunter-DLC-5-Son-Of-Crawmerax-large-7.jpg

p1_2107849_d06c2388.jpg

Conclusion –

So to conclude it, I would say the addictive gameplay, good locations and enemies, funny dialogues by the characters and the loot system is the reason I never got bored of this game. I’m really looking forward to playing Borderlands 3 which releases next year! Till that time I would recommend Borderlands 2 to everyone. If you’re a person who likes shooting games, then what are you waiting for ? 

frinds-explosives-video-game-borderlands-2-ecards-someecards-share-image-1479836124

I hope to see you in Pandora soon !

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Borderlands 2 – The game that got me addicted for more than a year!

  1. charliechatters says:

    Hey! Great post, I saw your title and thought “I’ve got to read this”. I’ve recently been playing Smite with a few people online (PS4) and one of them has convinced me to get The Handsome Collection (it’s discounted to £9.99 at the moment so that made the choice easier). After reading your post I’m even more excited for the game… A little bit nervous on the addiction side of things, though!

    Liked by 1 person

      • The Mechromancer says:

        Haha I’m sure you’ll be really addicted. Just one thing- choose your character carefully like after seeing the gameplay of each. Don’t just choose one on the basis of looks. I made that mistake. So yeah. And let me know if you like the game!

        Liked by 1 person

      • charliechatters says:

        My friend discussed through each role and it sounds like I would suit the Siren (I often work in support roles so healer and the action shot won me over) – I haven’t seen gameplay yet but will keep that in mind. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment